Art competition entries 2012

I entered a few of my images into our Faculty Art Competition this year. They didn’t win but I thought I would post them here anyway.

Click on the images for a larger view.

You can see the winners here.

3D rendering of ciliated cells

3D rendering of ciliated cells. LLC-PK1 (pig kidney epithelial) cells were grown on a round micropattern to constrain growth. Cilia are in green with the Golgi in magenta and nuclei in blue. The image is a 3D rendering of a deconvolved z-series acquired using widefield microscopy.

Image of Aequorea victoria.

A pseudocoloured image of the jellyfish Aequorea victoria from which Green Fluorescent Protein was isolated. The pseudocolouring illustrates the diverse colour palette of GFP variants that we now have available.
The image is a photograph taken by me at Monterey Bay aquarium in 2003. There is only one jellyfish in the original photo, this image is a montage.

